Back Biological Taxonomy

Biological Taxonomy

Level(s) Definition Example (humans)
Kingdom (kingdoms) Highest rank; in one current system, there are six recognized kingdoms--Animalia, Plantae, Fungi, Protista, Archaea, and Bacteria--but these are subject to change over time Animalia
Phylum (phyla) - zoology/
Division (divisions) - botany
Represents a group of organisms with a certain degree of morphological or developmental similarity Chordata
Class (classes) Sub-division of phylum Mammalia
Order (orders) Sub-division of class Primates
Family (families) Sub-division of order Hominidae
Genus (genera) Sub-division of family Homo
Species (species) Basic category of classification; sub-division of genus; used with the genus to create binomial name Homo sapiens (or H. sapiens)